Tag: Molly

Jan 15
Blog Tour Guest Post: Amanda Barratt, Author of My Heart Belongs In Niagra Falls, New York

Blog Tour Guest Post: Amanda Barratt, Author of My Heart Belongs In Niagra Falls, New York

I’m so excited to be featuring this awesome author on my blog today! She’s super sweet, and her book…..oh, my goodness her book! It is absolutely stunning and I was so honored to be able to partake in reviewing it for her (stay tuned for my review this week!). Everyone, let’s welcome Amanda Barratt to the blog today. Welcome, Amanda!  My 6 Favorite Things About Novels Set in the Victorian Era I’m thrilled to be hanging out here today, celebrating the release of My Heart Belongs in Niagara Falls, New York! The story is set in Victorian America, one of my very favorite eras. Today, I thought it would be fun to share the top reasons why I love reading novels set in this time period. Put on your bonnet, pour a cup of tea, and enjoy this trip to bygone days. 1— The manners – Our social customs have changed drastically since the late 1800s, and it’s fun reading a story where a young lady needed a chaperone to walk out with her suitor, where fanning yourself a certain way held hidden meanings, and a lady paid afternoon calls on friends and left a calling card behind. 2— The… Read more »

Divider

Jan 08
Launch Team ARC Review: Isaiah’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews

Launch Team ARC Review: Isaiah’s Daughter by Mesu Andrews

Title: Isaiah’s Daughter Series: A Novel Of Prophets And Kings #1 Publisher: Waterbrook Multnomah Publish Date: January 16, 2018 ISBN: 978-0735290259 Source: Publisher Pages: 400 Rating: 5 Stars Purchase: Amazon ~ CBD ~ B&N About The Book In this epic Biblical narrative, ideal for fans of The Bible miniseries, a young woman taken into the prophet Isaiah’s household rises to capture the heart of the future king. Ishma comes to the prophet Isaiah’s home as a five-year-old orphan, her spirit decimated after watching her family murdered and herself taken captive to Samaria. But over time, with tenderness and care, the girl is revived, and Isaiah and his wife adopt Ishma, giving her a new name—Zibah, delight of the Lord. As the years pass, Zibah wins Prince Hezekiah’s favor, a boy determined to rebuild the kingdom his father has nearly destroyed. But loving this man awakens Zibah’s painful past and calls into question the very foundation of her father’s prophecies. Can she learn to rely on only Yahweh, who gives life, calms fear, and conquers nations? My Thoughts Hold on just one moment, please. *Reflects* Ahem. Okay. Now, I can review this book. This book. What can say about this poignant,… Read more »

Divider

Divider

Jan 03
BookLook Blogger Review: A Place At Our Table by Amy Clipston

BookLook Blogger Review: A Place At Our Table by Amy Clipston

Title: A Place At Our Table Series: Amish Homestead #1 Publisher: Zondervan Publish Date: November 14, 2017 ISBN: 978-0310349013 Source: BookLook Bloggers Pages: 336 Rating: 4 Stars Purchase: Amazon ~ CBD ~ B&N About The Book Along with his volunteer work at the local fire department, running his Amish farm keeps Jamie Riehl busy. He barely has time to eat at the family table, never mind find someone to date. But when he meets Kayla Dienner, he is smitten. Kayla tries hard to deny her attraction to Jamie. After all, she’s spent the last year discouraging her younger brother, Nathan, from becoming a firefighter. The death of their older brother in a fire a year ago is fresh in her mind—she can’t bear the idea of putting her heart on the line every time the sirens blare. Then tragedy strikes, and Jamie wants to extinguish any flame between him and Kayla. Can Kayla set aside her own fears to save the love she was determined to deny? The first book in the Amish Homestead series, A Place at Our Table invites us to a quiet community in Lancaster County where love burns brightly no matter the cost. My Thoughts Another… Read more »

Divider

Jan 02
BookLook Blogger Review: Love Held Captive by Shelley Shepard Gray

BookLook Blogger Review: Love Held Captive by Shelley Shepard Gray

Title: Love Held Captive Series: Lone Star Hero #3 Publisher: Zondervan Publish Date: October 10, 2017 ISBN: 978-0310345473 Source: BookLook Bloggers Pages: 320 Rating: 4 Stars Purchase: Amazon About The Book After the War Between the States, a Confederate officer longs to heal the heart of a beautiful woman—but first he’ll have to right the wrongs that were done to her. Major Ethan Kelly has never been able to absolve himself of the guilt he feels for raiding a woman’s home shortly before he was taken prisoner during the Civil War. He is struggling to get through each day until he once again crosses paths with Lizbeth Barclay—the very woman he is trying to forget. Life after the war is not much different for former Captain Devin Monroe until he meets Julianne VanFleet. He knows she is the woman he’s been waiting for, but he struggles to come to terms with the sacrifices she made to survive the war. When Ethan and Devin discover that their former colonel, Adam Bushnell, is responsible for both Lizbeth’s and Julianne’s pain, they call on their former fellow soldiers to hunt him down. As the men band together to earn the trust of the… Read more »

Divider

Dec 22
#FirstLineFridays: Christmas At Carnton by Tamera Alexander

#FirstLineFridays: Christmas At Carnton by Tamera Alexander

Welcome to First Line Fridays. What is First Line Fridays?? It’s where we share the first line only of a book we are currently reading, or one that is on our shelves. This week’s first is from For Love Of Liberty by Julie Lessman. Here is the first line: NOVEMBER 13,1863 FRANKLIN, TENNESSEE 21 MILES SOUTH OF NASHVILLE “Very nice stitching, Mrs. Prescott.”   I love this cover! It’s the simplicity that catches me with it. I would love to live here. How about you?  What’s your first line? Leave me a comment below and then visit the home of First Line Fridays at Hoarding Books to see all the other awesome participants.

Divider

Dec 21
LitFuse Blog Tour Review: Imperfect Justice by Cara Putman

LitFuse Blog Tour Review: Imperfect Justice by Cara Putman

Title: Imperfect Justice Series: Hidden Justice #2 Publisher: Thomas Nelson Publish Date: December 5, 2017 ISBN: 978-0718083489 Source: LitFuse Blog Tours Pages: 352 Rating: 5 stars Purchase: Amazon About The Book The police say the woman was a murderer. Emilie Wesley knows they can’t be talking about her client . . . can they? To the world it seems obvious: Kaylene Adams killed her daughter and then was shot by police. Attorney Emilie Wesley knows a different story: Kaylene would never hurt anyone and was looking for a way out of a controlling, abusive relationship. Her death shakes Emilie’s belief that she can make a difference for women in violent marriages. Self-doubt plagues her as she struggles to continue her work in the wake of the tragedy.Reid Billings thought he knew his sister—right up until he learned how she died. He discovers a letter from Kaylene begging him to fight for custody of her daughters if anything should happen to her. No attorney in her right mind would support an uncle instead of the father in a custody case, but Kaylene’s letter claims Emilie Wesley will help him.Thrown together in a race to save Kaylene’s surviving daughter, Emily and Reid… Read more »

Divider

Dec 20
Review: For Love Of Liberty by Julie Lessman

Review: For Love Of Liberty by Julie Lessman

Title: For Love Of Liberty Series: Silver Lining Ranch #1 Publisher: Julie Lessman Publish Date: November 24, 2017 ASIN: B0772CMKYN Source: Author Pages: 164 Rating: 5 Stars Purchase: Amazon About The Book Match Made in Heaven? Or Someplace a Whole Lot Warmer? She’s stubborn, educated, and looking to give women the vote. He’s bullheaded, successful, and looking to give her a piece of his mind. But when things heat up, they just may give each other a piece of their hearts. My Thoughts Sweet thunderation, this book was all I hoped it would be! It is ALMOST (not quite but almost, as one other book-also by Julie Lessman-holds the title for most favorite!) my favorite novella. This book drew me in instantly, caccooned me in fuzzy, warm feelings, making me feel like I had come home after a long vacation. This novella is filled with sweet characters, inspirational messages of hope and longing, and some fun loving, bull headed banter between characters that will sweep you off your feet. Liberty O’Shea and Griffin McShane are two beautifully chiseled characters. Liberty is strong willed and set in her ways, and Finn is handsome and oh so fun to know know. The… Read more »

Divider

Dec 18
LitFuse Blog Tour Review: Seeds Of Hope by Barbara Cameron

LitFuse Blog Tour Review: Seeds Of Hope by Barbara Cameron

Title: Seeds Of Hope Series: Harvest Of Hope #1 Publisher: Gilead Publishing Publish Date: November 7, 2017 ISBN: 978-1683700555 Source: LitFuse Blog Tours Pages: 272 Rating: 4 stars Purchase: Amazon About The Book A heartwarming tale of discovering love right in front of you Miriam Troyer has had a secret crush on Mark Byler since she was a teenager, but she knows they can never have a relationship: Mark is a big-city attorney and an Englischer. Her Amish community is too far removed from all he knows-and she loves her quiet way of life. Mark has always loved his visits to his grandfather’s farm, but he’s convinced the Amish life isn’t for him. There’s so much of the world to see and experience, and the excitement of his successful law practice can’t be matched by the slow pace of life found back home in the country. But when things go wrong and his firm distances itself from him to try to save themselves, Mark finds himself back at his grandfather’s farm. Could life in this simple world be worth living after all? Especially when the teenager he remembers has grown into a woman that could be his future. Suddenly, these… Read more »

Divider

Dec 16
Celebrate Lit Blog Tour Review: 12 Days At Bleakly Manor by Michelle Griep

Celebrate Lit Blog Tour Review: 12 Days At Bleakly Manor by Michelle Griep

About the Book Name of book: 12 Days at Bleakly Manor Author: Michelle Griep Genre: Historical Christmas Release Date: September 1, 2017 England, 1851: When Clara Chapman receives an intriguing invitation to spend Christmas at an English manor home, she is hesitant yet feels compelled to attend—for if she remains the duration of the twelve-day celebration, she is promised a sum of five hundred pounds. But is she walking into danger? It appears so, especially when she comes face to face with one of the other guests—her former fiancé, Benjamin Lane. Imprisoned unjustly, Ben wants revenge on whoever stole his honor. When he’s given the chance to gain his freedom, he jumps at it—and is faced with the anger of the woman he stood up at the altar. Brought together under mysterious circumstances, Clara and Ben discover that what they’ve been striving for isn’t what ultimately matters. What matters most is what Christmas is all about . . . love. Click here to purchase your copy. Molly’s Thoughts I love Christmas, and I love a  good cozy mystery and this book has both! Ms. Griep has talented hands and created a story that not only captured me instantly, but kept… Read more »

Divider