PUYB Blog Tour&Review: A New Prospect by Wayne Zurl

by

About the Book:
Sam Jenkins never thought about being a fish out of water during the twenty years he spent solving crimes in New York. But things change, and after retiring to Tennessee, he gets that feeling. Jenkins becomes a cop again and is thrown headlong into a murder investigation and a steaming kettle of fish, down-home style.

The victim, Cecil Lovejoy, couldn’t have deserved it more. His death was the inexorable result of years misspent and appears to be no great loss to anyone, except the prime suspect is Sam’s personal friend.
Jenkins’ abilities are attacked when Lovejoy’s influential widow urges politicians to reassign the case to state investigators.

Feeling like “a pork chop at a bar mitzvah” in his new workplace, Sam suspects something isn’t kosher when the family tries incessantly to force him out of the picture.

In true Jenkins style, Sam turns common police practice on its ear to insure an innocent man doesn’t falls prey to an imperfect system and the guilty party receives appropriate justice.
A NEW PROSPECT takes the reader through a New South resolutely clinging to its past and traditional way of keeping family business strictly within the family.

About the Author:
Wayne Zurl grew up on Long Island and retired after working for twenty years with the Suffolk County Police Department, one of the largest municipal law enforcement agencies in New York and the nation. For thirteen of those years he served as a section commander supervising investigators.

Prior to his police career, Zurl served on active duty in the US Army during the Vietnam War and later in the reserves.

In 2006 he began writing crime fiction. Seven of his Sam Jenkins mysteries have been produced as audio books and simultaneously published as eBooks. His first full-length novel, A New Prospect, traditionally published by Black Rose Writing, debuted in January 2011.

Zurl left New York to live in the foothills of the Great Smoky Mountains of Tennessee with his wife, Barbara.

For more information about Zurl or his writing, visit www.waynezurlbooks.net. Follow his book signing tour at www.booktour.com/authors/show/31206.
Connect with Wayne at Twitter at https://twitter.com/#!/waynezurl or Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001483038544.

The Trailer:

My Review:
I love suspenseful murder mysteries. There is just something about the rush of trying to solve the puzzle right along side the characters, that really sets my heart to pumping. LOVE the feeling. With Wayne Zurl, we get that heart pumping, fun, fast paced murder mystery in a small town.

Sam Jenkins. Now THAT is a detective who is going places!  I had so much fun interacting with this small town Southern Yankee. After being retired for 14 years, Sam decides to jump back into the saddle, and take on the roll of Police Chief in Prospect, Tennessee. What he wasn’t countin’ on was a homicide to take place instantly. All points bulletin out for the killer. Sam Jenkins was a man on a mission, and when he was that mission, he got the job done!

With fun loving characters, not to mention some MAJOR southern drawl (I could just hear the way the characters were pronouncing the words!), a lot of mystery and a detective determined to right the wrongs, this  novel was fantastic. It truly had me turning the pages late into the night, and picturing myself right in the middle of good ol’ Prospect.

I highly recommend this to all suspense, murder mystery lovers. Five stars and flying colors, my hats are off to a fantastic author who is going on the top of my recommendation list. I can’t wait to go back and read the other Sam Jenkins novel, as well as looking forward to many more (hint, hint, Wayne!) Sam Jenkins novels in the future.

Purchase your copy here.

Visit other stops on this tour.

Monday, June 6
Book reviewed at Life in Review

Tuesday, June 7
Wednesday, June 8
Book trailer spotlighted at If Books Could Talk
Thursday, June 9
Interviewed at Beyond the Books
Friday, June 10
Interviewed at Pump Up Your Book

Monday, June 13
Book reviewed at Bri Clark, the Belle of Boise RESCHEDULING
Tuesday, June 14
Guest blogging & BOOK GIVEAWAY atNight Owl Reviews

Wednesday, June 15
Interviewed at Blogcritics
Friday, June 17
Interviewed at Literarily Speaking
Monday, June 20
Book spotlighted at Examiner
Tuesday, June 21
Book spotlighted at Literal Exposure
Wednesday, June 22
Book reviewed at Mad Moose Mama
Thursday, June 23
Monday, June 27
Guest blogging at Murder by 4
Tuesday, June 28
Interviewed at The Writer’s Life
Wednesday, June 29
Interviewed at American Chronicle
Thursday, June 30
Tuesday, July 5
Book reviewed at Book Reviews by Molly
Wednesday, July 6
Interviewed at Review From Here
Thursday, July 7
Guest blogging at Writing Daze
Friday, July 8
Interviewed at Book Marketing Buzz
Monday, July 11
Guest blogging at The Book Bin
Tuesday, July 12
Book reviewed at MysteriesEtc.
Wednesday, July 13
Guest blogging at Beyond the Books
Thursday, July 14
Interviewed at Shine
Friday, July 15
Monday, July 18
Book reviewed at Community Bookstop
Tuesday, July 19
Guest blogging at The Book Faery Reviews
Wednesday, July 20
Book reviewed at Celtic Lady’s Ramblings
Thursday, July 21
Book reviewed at Carol’s Notebook
Friday, July 22
Guest blogging at Carol’s Notebook
Book reviewed at Ellis {Reviews & Life}
Monday, July 25
Book reviewed at WV Stitcher
Tuesday, July 26
Book reviewed at My Book Retreat
Wednesday, July 27
Guest blogging at My Book Retreat
Thursday, July 28
Friday, July 29
Interviewed at As the Pages Turn
*This eBook was provided for review by the author for PumpUpYourBook!*

Previous Post Next Post

Cafinated Reads Loves Comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: