Review: The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron

8 April, 2017 Book Reviews 4 ★★★★

Review: The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy CambronThe Illusionist's Apprentice by Kristy Cambron
Published by HarperCollins Christian Publishing on March 7th 2017
Genres: Historical, Romance, Mystery
Pages: 368
Format: Paperback
Source: The Fiction Guild
Amazon B&NCBD
Goodreads

Not all illusions happen on the stage.
Wren Lockhart, apprentice to master illusionist Harry Houdini, uses life on a vaudeville stage to
escape the pain of her past. She continues her career of illusion after her mentor’s death, intent on burying her true identity.
But when a rival performer’s act goes tragically wrong, the newly formed FBI calls on Wren to speak the truth—and reveal her real name to the world. She transfers her skills for misdirection from the stage to the back halls of vaudeville, as she finds herself the unlikely partner in the FBI’s investigation. All the while Houdini’s words echo in her mind: Whatever occurs, the crowd must believe it’s what you meant to happen. She knows that if anyone digs too deep, secrets long kept hidden may find their way to the surface—and shatter her carefully controlled world.
Set during one of the richest, most vibrant eras in American history, this Jazz Age novel of illusion, suspense, and forgotten pasts is perfect for fans of The Magician’s Lie, challenging all to find the underpinnings of faith on their own life’s stage.
“Prepare to be amazed by The Illusionist's Apprentice.” —Greer Macallister, bestselling author of The Magician's Lie and Girl in Disguise 

I received a complimentary copy of this book from The Fiction Guild and was under no obligation to post a review, positive or negative.

My Thoughts:
This is my first Kristy Cambron book and it most certainly will not be my last. I wasn’t quite sure what to think of it when I got it, and read the synopsis but the cover was very captivating, so I gave it a try. I was not disappointed! In fact, I read this book in less than 48 hours. It was that good. From start to finish, Ms. Cambron creates a captivating plot line that will grip the reader til the end.

Following Wren Lockhart literally left me on the edge of my seat, gripping the book, waiting to see what happened next in this beautifully woven tale. It was such a thrilling blend of mystery and intrigue! Ms. Cambron really did a wonderful job on the scenes of history and the characters that came to life. I felt a part of Wren and Agent Matthews’world of Houdini and romance. 

If you are looking for a laugh out loud book, don’t look here. If you are looking for a book that is full of detail and mystery, will sweep you off your feet, twist you up, and make you land in a place that you just want to sit and reflect, then this is the book for you. Definitely a keeper on my shelf! Ms. Cambron has just gained a new fan and I am looking forward to seeing what other four star awesomeness she has in store. 

About Kristy Cambron

Kristy Cambron has a background in art and design, but she fancies life as a vintage-inspired storyteller. She is the bestselling author of THE RINGMASTER’S WIFE, named to Publishers Weekly Spring 2016 Religion & Spirituality TOP 10. Her novels have been named to Library Journal Reviews’ Best Books and RT Reviewers’ Choice Awards Best lists, and received a 2015 INSPY Awards nomination for best debut novel. THE ILLUSIONIST’S APPRENTICE (HarperCollins, 2017) is her fourth novel.

Kristy holds a degree in Art History from Indiana University, and has 15 years experience in education and leadership development for a Fortune-100 Corporation. Kristy lives in Indiana with her husband and three sons, where she can probably be bribed with a coconut mocha latte and a good read.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

4 Responses to “Review: The Illusionist’s Apprentice by Kristy Cambron”

Leave a Reply