PUYB Tour Review:Devil’s Hand by M.E. Patterson

Posted 7 November, 2011 by Molly in Book Reviews / 2 Comments

Title:Devil’s Hand
Author:M.E.Patterson
Publisher:Digimonkey Studios
Release Date:July 25, 2011
Source:publisher|My FTC Disclaimer
Purchase: Amazon|BarnesAndNoble
Rating:5/5 Books

About the Book:
A Las Vegas poker ace with supernatural luck is swept into a world-ending conflict between fallen angels and otherworldly shades, in a thrilling debut novel for readers who enjoy Dean Koontz, Jim Butcher, and Tim Powers.

The lone survivor of a tragic plane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a mysterious lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. It wasn’t long before the eyes in the sky threw him on the blacklist and chased him out of town. Now, after years away, Trent returns to Las Vegas, and walks right back into trouble.
As a serial kidnapper terrorizes the city, Trent and his wife, Susan, rescue a strange, thirteen year-old girl, only to find themselves caught in a fallen angel’s plot to cleanse Las Vegas with an unholy blizzard.

As the neon dims and the city freezes, Trent is forced to make terrible sacrifices in order to protect his new charge, and learns dark truths about himself and the creatures plotting against mankind. Poker-playing demons, fallen angels, and otherworldly shades all vie to enlist his strange luck, and Trent must choose his role in the coming War, or watch our world fall to ruin beneath a blanket of shadow and ice.

About the Author:
M. E. Patterson is an author of sci-fi, fantasy, horror, and thrillers, as well as an information technologist. He received an English/Fiction Writing degree from Virginia Tech, where he studied under nationally-recognized writers and poets. He has published short stories on RevolutionSF and his first manuscript for his book, Devil’s Hand, placed in the top five in the Writers’ League of Texas Manuscript Contest.

My Review:
If you’re a fan of horror thriller author Stephen King, you’ll enjoy M.E. Patterson’s work. Patterson’s work will blow you away with his instantly captivating story line, characters that are lifelike and a page turning, roller coaster ride.

Trent Hawkins is a gambling man. He was the survivor in a terrible plane crash, the left him full of powerful gambling luck. Until he became a VERY disliked man among Vegas. But, after time, he and his wife returned to Vegas,and along the way, they experience some VERY strange events (like FISH raining from the sky for instance….).

Once in the heart of the city, the twists, turns and ups and downs become more intense, as Trent and his wife are chased by an unknown demon. Each page turn brought with it a captivating power, and I couldn’t put it down for anything. I was entranced with the awesome work of Mr. Patterson and the hell he wreaked on his amazing characters.

A  fabtastic prophetic thriller! This is going on my books of highly recommended reads with a high 5 Book worthy rating. I loved the creepiness, the prophecy, the characters, every nook and cranny  of this book was worth the day and a half it too read! I can’t wait for another fantabulous thriller from Mr. Patterson!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,


2 responses to “PUYB Tour Review:Devil’s Hand by M.E. Patterson

Cafinated Reads Loves Comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.