PUYB Blog Tour&Review: Stories From A Lifetime by Hugh Aaron

Posted 7 July, 2011 by Molly in Book Reviews / 0 Comments

About the Book:
Stories from a Lifetime carries readers through a widely diverse series of life’s peaks and valleys with poignant, clear-eyed vision and understanding that is only gradually gained across the course of a lifetime through endurance and honest appraisal of the emotional rollercoaster that we all ride.

These stories form a welcome, and increasingly rare, honest, grounded, and beautifully written collection that will touch nerves while sympathizing with what it means to be human.
Hugh Aaron delicately reveals the world through the innocent eyes of a young boy, through those of a soldier far from home during wartime, and those of a struggling businessman and faltering husband. He is unafraid to reveal panic beneath a façade of success, the deep and hollow sadness that may exist in an outwardly happy marriage, the yearning we feel to make a break for freedom from the rat race, the unexpected emotional responses that shift lives far beyond the expected course of events.

About the Author:
Hugh Aaron, a native of Worcester, Massachusetts, received a Liberal Arts degree in the Humanities at The University of Chicago. For three years as a Seabee he served in the South Pacific during WWII. He was CEO of his own plastics manufacturing business for 20 years before selling it to write full time. Several of his short stories have been published in national magazines and 18 of his essays on business management have appeared in The Wall Street Journal. He is the author of Business Not as Usual: How to Win Managing a Company through Hard and Easy Times. Currently he’s writing and producing plays.

His latest book is a short story collection, Stories From a Lifetime.

You can visit his website at www.stonespointbooks.com or his blog at www.businesswisdom.blogspot.com.

My Review:
I’m not really big on reading these kinds of books, but, I believe in giving an author a chance, and to help to spread the word about their books. And, sometimes, I find myself pleasantly surprised with the end results, both with the author’s writing and the effect that book has on me. This is one of those books. I didn’t know what to expect going into this book, but by the end of the particular book, I didn’t want to put it down.

This isn’t your normal book, like I said. This is a book that is filled with a collection of stories over a lifetime. So are moving, others are deep and meaningful and some are of heartache and pain. It doesn’t matter what walk of life, it seems this book has a story that fills that walk of life to a “T”. These short stories are filled with emotion from the author, and really grip the reader.

I highly recommend this book to everyone. You’re outlook on life will change, and with the short stories, it makes for fast reading. It’s well worth the 5 star praise and two thumbs up that I am giving it. This author’s work is phenomenal and makes you think about your life and where it’s going. Truly amazing and I am happy to say that this is a book worth reading!

Visit other stops on the tour:

Monday, June 6
Book reviewed at Life in Review
Tuesday, June 7
Interviewed at Examiner
Wednesday, June 8
Guest blogging at Literal Exposure
Thursday, June 9
Interviewed at Literarily Speaking
Friday, June 10
Monday, June 13
Interviewed at Beyond the Books
Tuesday, June 14
Book reviewed at Ohio Girl Talks
Wednesday, June 15
Guest blogging at Broken Teepee
Thursday, June 16
Book reviewed at Reviews From the Heart
Friday, June 17
Book reviewed at Mad Moose Mama
Monday, June 20
Book reviewed at Freelancing Parents
Tuesday, June 21
Guest blogging at LaVigne’s Blog
Wednesday, June 22
Book reviewed at LaVigne’s Blog
Thursday, June 23
Friday, June 24
Interviewed at As the Pages Turn
Monday, June 27
Interviewed at Blogcritics
Tuesday, June 28
Interviewed at Shine
Wednesday, June 29
Book reviewed at Wakela’s World
Thursday, June 30
OPEN
Tuesday, July 5
Book reviewed at Colloquium
Wednesday, July 6
Interviewed at Review From Here
Thursday, July 7
Book reviewed at Book Reviews by Molly
Friday, July 8
Interviewed at The Writer’s Life
Monday, July 11
Book reviewed at Inspired by Savannah
Tuesday, July 12
Guest blogging at The Book Bin
Wednesday, July 13
Book reviewed at Community Bookstop
Thursday, July 14
Book reviewed at Avomnia
Friday, July 15
Monday, July 18
Guest blogging at book giveaway at The Book Faerie Reviews
Tuesday, July 19
Book reviewed at The Book Faerie Reviews
Wednesday, July 20
Interviewed at American Chronicle
Thursday, July 21
Interviewed at Divine Caroline
Friday, July 22
Interviewed at Broowaha
Monday, July 25
Book reviewed at Celtic Lady’s Reviews
Tuesday, July 26
Interviewed at Book Marketing Buzz
Wednesday, July 27
Interviewed at Pump Up Your Book
Thursday, July 28
OPEN
Friday, July 29
Book reviewed at Back Seat Reader
Purchase your copy here.
*This book was provided for review by the author and PumpUpYourBook*

Tags: , , , , ,


Cafinated Reads Loves Comments!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.