ARC Review: Blackbird by Molly McAdams

5 February, 2017 ARC Reviews, Book Reviews 0 ★★★★★

ARC Review: Blackbird by Molly McAdamsBlackbird by Molly McAdams
Series: Redemption #1
Published by Self Published on February 28th, 2017
Genres: Romance, New Adult
Pages: 352
Format: eBook ARC
Source: Author
iBooks
Goodreads

Blackbird is the new novel from New York Times bestselling author, Molly McAdams, a dark, twisting story of redemption and true love against the odds, perfect for fans of J. B. Salsbury, Jamie McGuire, Sophie Jackson and Lisa Renee Jones, which A. L. Jackson calls, 'Consuming. Enthralling. Sexy. MIND-BLOWING.'

I live in a world few know exist. I've trained for this. I know what to say, what to do, and how to act. I've perfected the lethal calm required for this life.

Now it's time to buy my first girl. But all it takes is one look at the brave girl who starts singing mid-auction for that calm to slip.

Briar Chapman is going to be the death of me, and I don't care. I'll take every day until that death comes, and I'll welcome it when it does.

On the outside, Lucas Holt is what nightmares are made of. A man cloaked in darkness, with sin-filled eyes and an enticing grin. As devil so devastatingly beautiful and cruel that his very presence instils fear.

But beneath his terrifying, every-calm exterior is an affectionate man haunted by a past that refuses to stay buried. And Lucas looks at me as though he's finally found the only person who can make it all go away.

We're in a battle of the brightest day and the darkest night - and I want to lie in the wake of our war.

When I found out that Molly was releasing a new book this month, I had to jump on that band wagon. I mean, it’s Molly McAdams. When I sat down to review this book, I went in with an open mind that anything could happen with this book. I didn’t know what would happen, I didn’t even read the blurb on this one. I just went in almost blind and I was so glad that I did! The anticipation with each page turn was incredible.

The characters in this story will gut you. You will feel anger. You will feel happiness. You will feel saddened. You will want to fuss at Molly McAdams. You will want to cherish the her and the book forever. That’s how emotional this book is. The theme of the story is not one you will take lightly, but you have to push on and find out what happens next. The twist of the story will hit you like a truck and leave you with your mouth on the floor and your thoughts in a whirlwind. The ending of the book will leave you wanting more. The ending of the book will leave you in a trance. The ending of the book will have you thinking deep thoughts and wondering how Molly can top this one.

At least all that happened to me. It was an experience I won’t soon forget. It leaves me debating on if I love this story more or less than Taking Chances. It’s definitely a hard to decision to make. I think, in the end, I have to say that this book is so much more than what Taking Chances was and I love it so much more in a whole different way, while Taking Chances will still be a top favorite for me. This is a book that a 5 star review will not do it justice. This is a book that deserves more than simple words can say. Molly McAdams, you have created a novel that is beyond incredible. You have created a book that left this fan (and hopefully new fans too!) speechless. You did a magnificent job on this one and I am anxiously awaiting the release of the next book in the series!

About Molly McAdams

Molly grew up in California but now lives in the oh-so-amazing state of Texas with her husband and furry four-legged daughters. When she’s not diving into the world of her characters, some of her hobbies include hiking, snowboarding, traveling, and long walks on the beach … which roughly translates to being a homebody with her hubby and dishing out movie quotes. She has a weakness for crude-humored movies and fried pickles, and loves curling up in a fluffy comforter during a thunderstorm … or under one in a bathtub if there are tornados. That way she can pretend they aren’t really happening.

Reading this book contributed to these challenges:

  • 2017 GoodReads Reading Challenge

Leave a Reply