Month: August 2012

Aug 29
CFBA Tour Preview: Living In Harmony by Mary Ellis

CFBA Tour Preview: Living In Harmony by Mary Ellis

This week, theChristian Fiction Blog Allianceis introducingLiving in HarmonyHarvest House Publishers (August 1, 2012)byMary Ellis ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Mary Ellis is the author of many books, including A Widow’s Hope, Sarah’s Christmas Miracle, and A Marriage for Meghan. She and her  husband live in central Ohio, where they try to live a simpler style of life. She was a finalist in the ACFW Carol Awards for A Widow’s Hope in 2010, and the 3inner of the Award of Merit in the Holt Medallion Awards for A Widow’s Hope in 2010. ABOUT THE BOOK Living in Harmony is the first book in bestselling author Mary Ellis’s New Beginnings series. It’s about fresh starts and love…and how faith in God and His perfect plan for our lives provides us with the peace and joy we desire. Amy King–young, engaged, and Amish–faces difficult challenges in her life when she suddenly loses both of her parents in a house fire. Her fiancé, John Detweiler, persuades her and her sister Nora to leave Lancaster County and make a new beginning with him in Harmony, Maine, where he has relatives who can help the women in their time of need. John’s brother Thomas and sister-in-law Sally… Read more »

Divider

Aug 29
PIC VBT Showcase: Section 132 by Helga Zeiner

PIC VBT Showcase: Section 132 by Helga Zeiner

Today, as part of Partners In Crime Virtual Book Tours, I’d like to give a big Reviews By Molly welcome to Helga Zeiner! She’s going to be sharing a guest post with you. Please read on for more information about her book, Section 132, along with the guest post. Section 132 Helga Zeiner POW WOW Books July 1,2011 450 pages Amazon B&N RBM’s Disclaimer Lillian grows up in an American fundamentalist Mormon sect which still practices polygamy. At thirteen she is forced by her father to become the child-bride of a Canadian Bishop. His compound is located deep in the wilderness of British Columbia, totally isolated from the rest of the world. Lillian wants out, but rebellion against her omnipotent husband is dangerous. When the land developer Richard Bergman buys the property next to the Bishop’s compound, he gets drawn into the sect’s secret. After discovering the true nature of his neighbor’s clandestine dealings, Richard is confronted with his own moral shortcomings and has to make some serious life-choices which affect everybody involved.

Divider

Aug 29
LitFuse Group Blog Tour Review: Over The Edge by Mary Connealy

LitFuse Group Blog Tour Review: Over The Edge by Mary Connealy

Over The Edge Mary Connealy The Kinkaid Brides, #3 Bethany House August 1, 2012 336 pages Amazon|BN|DeeperShopping provided by publisher RBM’s Disclaimer 5/5 Books Seth Kincaid remembers almost everything… except getting married! Seth Kincaid survived a fire in a cave, but he’s never been the same. He was always a reckless youth, but now he’s gone over the edge. He ran off to the Civil War and came back crazier than ever. After the war, nearly dead from his injuries, it appears Seth got married. Oh, he’s got a lot of excuses, but his wife isn’t happy to find out Seth doesn’t remember her. Callie has searched, prayed, and worried. Now she’s come to the Kincaid family’s ranch in Colorado to find her lost husband. Callie isn’t a long-suffering woman. Once she knows her husband is alive, she wants to kill him. She’s not even close to forgiving him for abandoning her. Then more trouble shows up in the form of a secret Seth’s pa kept for years. The Kincaid brothers might lose their ranch if they can’t sort things out. It’s enough to drive a man insane–but somehow it’s all making Seth see things more clearly. And now that… Read more »

Divider

Aug 27
TLC Book Tours Literary Tour Stop: So LA by Bridget Hoida + Giveaway!

TLC Book Tours Literary Tour Stop: So LA by Bridget Hoida + Giveaway!

So LA Bridget Hoida Lettered Press June 20, 2012 384 pages Amazon | BN RBM’s Disclaimer Magdalena de la Cruz breezed through Berkeley and built an empire selling designer water. She’d never felt awkward or unattractive… until she moved to Los Angeles. In L.A., where “everything smells like acetone and Errol Flynn,” Magdalena attempts to reinvent herself as a geographically appropriate bombshell—with rhinestones, silicone and gin—as she seeks an escape from her unraveling marriage and the traumatic death of her younger brother, Junah. Magdalena’s Los Angeles is glitzy and glamorous but also a landscape of the absurd. Her languidly lyrical voice provides a travel guide for a city of make-believe, where even Hollywood insiders feel left out. Like a lane change on the 405 freeway during rush hour, Bridget Hoida skillfully navigates the impossible. In So L.A.Hoida offers both a satirical and sympathetic portrait of contemporary Los Angeles through the penetrating prose of her female protagonist. Evoking a dynamic and materialist landscape, So L.A. introduces readers to the unforgettable voice of an extremely talented new writer.

Divider

Aug 26
CLP Blog Tour Promo: Fatty Patty by Kathleen Irene Paterka

CLP Blog Tour Promo: Fatty Patty by Kathleen Irene Paterka

Fatty Patty Kathleen Irene Paterka The James Bay Novel Series,#1 May 7, 2012 382 pages Amazon|BN RBM’s Disclaimer Small towns, long memories. Everyone in the exclusive summer resort of James Bay, Michigan remembers FATTY PATTY, the chubby little girl with the round face and wild red curls. All grown up now, Patty Perreault teaches at the same elementary school where the painful playground memories still taunt her. She hasn’t forgotten the cruel nickname—plus she still hasn’t lost those extra pounds. Convinced her weight is the biggest reason why she’s a four time loser in the semi-finals for Teacher of the Year, Patty resolves to make some changes in her body and her life. Sam Curtis, an overweight accountant she meets at the community pool, swims into Patty’s life with romance on his mind. But as their friendship grows, Patty finds it hard to see beyond his extra pounds. She’s torn as Sam refuses to deal with his own overweight issues. Her heart tells her one thing, but her eyes see another. She’s not interested in an overweight boyfriend. When it comes to winning the Grand Prize in life and love, Patty has some hard lessons to learn. Will she be… Read more »

Divider

Aug 25
Revell Blog Tour Review: Dying To Read by Lorena McCourtney

Revell Blog Tour Review: Dying To Read by Lorena McCourtney

Dying To Read Lorena McCourtney The Cate Kinkaid Files,#1 Revell Books August 1,2012 320 pages Amazon|BN|Deepershopping provided by publisher RBM’s Disclaimer 5/5 Books All she wanted was a paycheck. What she got was a murder. Cate Kinkaid’s life is . . . well, frankly it’s floundering. Her social life, her career, her haircut–they’re all a mess. Unemployed, she jumps at the chance to work for her PI uncle, even though she has no experience and no instincts. After all, she is just dabbling in the world of private investigating until she can find a “real” job. All she has to do for her first assignment is determine that a particular woman lives at a particular address. Simple, right? But when she reaches the dark Victorian house, she runs into an hungry horde of gray-haired mystery readers and a dead body. This routine PI job is turning out to be anything but simple. Is Cate in over her head?

Divider

Aug 22
CFBA Tour Preview: The Face Of Heaven by Murray Pura

CFBA Tour Preview: The Face Of Heaven by Murray Pura

This week, theChristian Fiction Blog Allianceis introducingThe Face of HeavenHarvest House Publishers (August 1, 2012)byMurray Pura ABOUT THE AUTHOR: Murray Pura was born and raised in Manitoba, just north of Minnesota and the Dakotas. He has published several novels and short story collections in Canada, and has been short-listed for a number of awards. His first books to be published in the United States are the inspirational works Rooted and Streams (both by Zondervan in 2010). His first novel to debut in the USA is A Bride’s Flight from Virginia City, Montana (Barbour), which was released January 2012. The second, The Wings of Morning, will be published by Harvest House on February 1. Both of these novels center around the Amish of Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. ABOUT THE BOOK In April 1861, Lyndel Keim discovers two runaway slaves in her family’s barn. When the men are captured and returned to their plantation, Lyndel and her young Amish beau, Nathaniel King, find themselves at odds with their pacifist Amish colony Nathaniel enlists in what will become the famous Iron Brigade of the Union Army. Lyndel enters the fray as a Brigade nurse on the battlefield, sticking close to Nathaniel as they both… Read more »

Divider

Aug 22
TLC Book Tours Review: What Happened To My Sister by Elizabeth Flock

TLC Book Tours Review: What Happened To My Sister by Elizabeth Flock

What Happened To My Sister Elizabeth Flock Ballantine Books August 7, 2012 304 pages Amazon | BN provided by publisher RBM’s Disclaimer 5/5 Books From the author of Me & Emma comes a dazzling novel of two unforgettable families bound together by their deepest secrets and haunted pasts—perfect for fans of The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes and The Book of Bright Ideas. N ine-year-old Carrie Parker and her mother, Libby, are making a fresh start in the small town of Hartsville, North Carolina, ready to put their turbulent past behind them. Violence has shattered their family and left Libby nearly unable to cope. And while Carrie once took comfort in her beloved sister, Emma, her mother has now forbidden even the mention of her name. When Carrie meets Ruth, Honor, and Cricket Chaplin, these three generations of warmhearted women seem to have the loving home Carrie has always dreamed of. But as Carrie and Cricket become fast friends, neither can escape the pull of their families’ secrets—and uncovering the truth will transform the Chaplins and the Parkers forever.

Divider

Divider

Aug 18
On My Wishlist; 8.18.2012

On My Wishlist; 8.18.2012

On My Wishlist is a fun weekly event hosted by Workaday Reads and runs every Saturday. It’s where we list all the books we desperately want but haven’t actually bought yet. They can be old, new or forthcoming. It’s also an event that you can join in with too – Mr Linky is always at the ready for you to link your own ‘On My Wishlist’ post. If you want to know more click here.

Divider